On 10th November, Mary joined other MPs in calling on the Government to resolve the ongoing backlog impacting the DVLA.

The letter is signed by 62 other MPs and requests that the Government urgently act to resolve the backlog which has seen applications to the DVLA stall, taking up to 10 weeks to process. This delay has a knock on effect to people’s documentation being returned to them, which has also impacted people in the workplace. Some people even face losing their jobs as a result of lack of documentation – a clear and visible impact of the delays in the DVLA’s process.

The letter also calls for the Department for Transport to act to resolve the dispute between the department and union representatives over working conditions in the DVLA.

Full text of the letter is below:

Dear Secretary of State,
Re: DVLA Backlogs
We are writing to raise our concerns regarding the backlog at the DVLA and voice the
frustrations of our constituents over delays to both the processing of applications, and the
returning of important documentation.
With our constituents currently facing six to ten week waiting periods for paperwork to be
processed, we ask for urgent action to be taken. Whilst we welcome that the Government has
made accommodations to allow motorists to drive while their paperwork is being processed.
However, individuals are still facing excessive waiting periods for their documentation to be
We wish to alert you to the fact that the delays have now reached a level where in certain
cases, our constituents face losing employment owing to the lack of certainty on when they
will legally be able to drive.
Furthermore, we are also aware of severe delays in the time taken to return applicants’
submitted documentation. Notably, when individuals have submitted important ID, such as
passports, they are often unable to find out when these might be returned. In some cases, they
have resorted to simply cancelling their application, yet still have not received their
We have received reports from constituents who, as a result of not having had their
documents returned in a timely manner from the DVLA, have been unable to travel abroad to
attend family events, including funerals.
When our constituents contact us about this urgent problem, our casework officers’
communication frequently goes unanswered. We recognise that the DVLA is currently under
immense pressure, however this situation requires immediate action.
We understand that the current service delays are, in part, related to an ongoing health and
safety dispute which has not yet been resolved. We call upon the Department for Transport to
do all it can to work positively with staff and unions at the DVLA to resolve this dispute as
swiftly as it possibly can so that work can commence on clearing the backlog.
Therefore, we urgently demand that the Government take action to address response times
between our Parliamentary offices and the DVLA. This would enable our staff to provide
much needed support to those who have been adversely affected by these delays, taking
decisive action to ensure their documents are returned.
Yours sincerely


Sarah Olney MP

Paula Barker MP
Apsana Begum MP
The Rt Hon Hilary Benn MP
Steve Bonnar MP
Sir Peter Bottomley MP
Lisa Cameron MP
The Rt Hon Alistair Carmichael MP
Wendy Chamberlain MP
Sarah Champion MP
Daisy Cooper MP
The Rt Hon Jeremy Corbyn MP
Ronnie Cowan MP
John Cruddas MP
The Rt Hon Ed Davey MP
Geraint Davies MP
Philip Davies MP
Martin Docherty-Hughes MP
Alan Dorans MP
Jonathan Edwards MP
Tim Farron MP
Marion Fellows MP
Yvonne Fovargue MP
Mary Foy MP
Patricia Gibson MP
Peter Grant MP
Sarah Green MP
Andrew Gwynne MP
Neale Hanvey MP
Emma Hardy MP
Helen Hayes MP
Gordon Henderson MP
Drew Hendry MP
Wera Hobhouse MP
Kate Hollern MP
The Rt Hon George Howarth MP
Rupa Huq MP
Christine Jardine MP
Kim Johnson MP
Barbara Keeley MP
Ben Lake MP
Chris Law MP
Kim Leadbitter MP
Emma Lewell Buck MP
Clive Lewis MP
Rebecca Long Bailey MP
Caroline Lucas MP
Kenny MacAskill MP
Siobhan McDonagh MP
Stewart McDonald MP
John McNally MP
Carol Monaghan MP
Anne Marie Morris MP
Layla Moran MP
Gavin Newlands MP
Kate Osborne MP
Virendra Sharma MP
Alyn Smith MP
Jamie Stone MP
Derek Thomas MP
Munira Wilson MP
Philippa Whitford MP
Mohammad Yasin MP

Link to Instagram Link to Twitter Link to YouTube Link to Facebook Link to LinkedIn Link to Snapchat Close Fax Website Location Phone Email Calendar Building Search